20 years of slackware ( as of 18/07/2013 ;) )

Slacker Boy

Yeah I know it is a bit late, it was 20th birthday of Slackware on this 18th. Got to know about this while reading through linxquestions.org.

Slackware was the first Linux distribution that I installed in my old desktop and since then I am in deeply love with it. I learned a lot by using it, which was always thrilling.

This was Patrick Volkerding’s post about first release of Slackware :

Path: gmd.de!xlink.net!howland.reston.ans.net!usenet.ins.cwru.edu!
cleveland.Freenet.Edu!bf703
From: bf703@cleveland.Freenet.Edu (Patrick J. Volkerding)
Newsgroups: comp.os.linux
Subject: Want an SLS like .99pl11A system?
Date: 11 Jul 1993 17:53:15 GMT
Organization: Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH (USA)
Lines: 41
Message-ID: <21pk2b$h45@usenet.INS.CWRU.Edu>
Reply-To: bf703@cleveland.Freenet.Edu (Patrick J. Volkerding)
NNTP-Posting-Host: hela.ins.cwru.edu

Well, that's good, because I put one together. It does not yet have
XFree-86 1.3, but give me about 2 days and it will. This is not like the MCC release…

View original post 258 more words